Sony Ereader

Sony Daily Edition PRS 900

 

Sony Daily Edition PRS 900 ereader reviewsThe new Sony daily edition surely is the logical next step in E-Reader development. Considering the size of the Reader, it is definitely suitable to read whole Newspapers on it without losing too much of the “Real Experience”, which of course impacts the portability at the same time. Sony took a page from Amazon on Tuesday in the intensifying competition to dominate the fast-growing e-book market, and it added a few chapters of its own.

The electronics giant introduced the Reader Daily Edition, its first portable reader, which will use AT&T’s 3G network to wirelessly download books, newspapers, magazines and other text. It’s similar to Amazon’s Kindle, which uses Sprint’s network.

Sony Daily Edition PRS 900 ereader reviewsBut unlike the market leader, Sony’s unit — which will cost $400 when it hits the shelves before Christmas — will have a 7-inch touch-screen and will accommodate several e-book formats, including ePub, which many libraries use for the electronic editions that they lend.

“It not only gets (Sony) back in the game, it enlarges the stadium,” says Richard Doherty of The Envisioneering Group, a technology research and consulting firm.

For example, the touch-screen makes it easy to turn pages with the swipe of a finger. Owners also can use a stylus to write notes directly in the margins of the book.

The Kindle has taken off in part because its wireless connections make it easy for owners to impulsively buy and instantly download any of Amazon’s 349,000 e-books.

Sony hopes to top that by promoting the ability of the Daily Edition to download books and text from a variety of sources, including independent bookseller Powells.com.

“The mantra for our group is ‘open’ — and, more importantly, I’d describe it as ‘access,’ ” says Sony Digital Reading President Steve Haber. “It’s access to content, and not one store to one device.”

The Daily Edition will make it easy to access libraries’ nascent e-book services. Users who have a library card can punch a ZIP code into the on-screen keyboard, and the Reader will connect to the appropriate branch.

Sony, like Amazon, won’t charge consumers directly for the wireless service.

But “it’s not clear whether they can sustain a subsidized wireless model” if users buy books from other retailers or just access libraries, says Ross Rubin, director of industry analysis at research firm NPD Group. Sony Daily Edition PRS 900 ereader reviews

Although Sony wants to promote the Daily Edition’s ability to download timely material, it could not say what newspapers or magazines will be available.

Users can’t directly access Web sites, the way they can on the Kindle. Another difference: The Sony Reader won’t translate text into speech.

The Daily Edition joins two other new Sony models that don’t have wireless: The Reader Pocket Edition has a 5-inch screen and sells for $200. And the Reader Touch Edition, with a 6-inch touch-screen, goes for $300.

The Kindle 2, with a 6-inch screen, also costs $300.Sony Daily Edition PRS 900 ereader reviews

 Sony Daily Edition PRS 900 ereader reviews

Source: Here

Do you have any experiences with the Sony Daily Edition? We would love to  hear from you and get your opinion! Please see rating section below!

 

 

Previous post

Samsung Papyrus

Next post

Sony Pocket Edition PRS 300

Thomas Jefferson

Thomas is a technology professional with an incredible interest in E-Readers and how they change the way we read. He has been involved in the development of E-Ink, as well as having reviewed hundreds of different devices over the years.

11 Comments

  1. eric
    May 11, 2011 at 9:15 pm

    the functionality of the sony is the worst. You have to be regestered at 2 different sites just to load a book into your device. when i asked support about this they said it was so you could not share books with others. my personal paper book library is over 1000 books and i love sharing with others, but to sony this is a bad thing. if this is the way they want the world to be, its no wonder the site got hacked. go with the kindle.

  2. Colleen
    February 19, 2011 at 12:52 pm

    Like other longer term users and owners of the Sony e-reader, I have been disapointed with the functionality of the advertized features. The battery one mine only lasted 4 hours, which was not sufficient for the long travel times I regularly take and bought it for. I was excited by the backlit screen that would allow me to read it in the dark, but the contrast is such that it’s impossible and barely backlit. You can’t read it at dawn or dusk without the help of another light and the glare is poor. The touch screen is slow and seems to jump to its own tune. You can enlarge the page to make the text actually readable (and I’m young with good eyesight), but then the text is distorted and the messages get confused.

    Overall, I’m pretty disapointed in this product. The size and weight is great, but it’s far more hassel to use than reading a book.

    I’ve not used or played with a Kindle or other comparable products on the market so I don’t know how this compares. Perhaps it’s great, but there is still a long way to go.

  3. leon stewart
    December 8, 2010 at 8:18 pm

    I bought one a few weeks back, and i’ve been using it on Library e-book downloads. I find it a little slow, and since I got one with a lite, the lite doesn’t work very well. It doesn’t lite uniformly over the face of the Reader Screen, a Backlite would have been better.

    I also found out that the Reader is not compatable with “Audio-Books”, even though it has a Headphone Connector.

    I choosed the Sony because it allows downloads from many other Sellers, while the Kindle seem to limit everything to Amazon, or a pass-through by Amazon, but i’m not very familiar with that process and or cost.

    However I didn’t find anything in the GGoogle Free Library that would attract much interest

  4. Franck E
    September 25, 2010 at 6:39 pm

    I own one of this for about a year now, and I think we all have to agree that this is a sexy looking device.
    I see a few complains about the glare on the screen, however this has never disturbed me, possibly due to the fact that I limit its use to planes / bedtime reading. I think the screen is actually perfect for the eyes, very similar to a book. The touch screen is nice to turn pages.
    Battery life is not as good as the 7500 pages Sony is telling us, but still last for about 2 weeks, which is very reasonable.
    Now this device is perfect if you want to read a simple book, however you might want to know that it fails to display tables, images (…) that could be included in the document. This is quite negative as it somehow limits what you are able to use the device for. Another let down is the speed of the device, which if you use it for anything else than reading (e.g. notes, pictures…) is pretty unworkable.
    Bottom line is that if you intend to use it only for reading books (without tables …), then this is definitely a good choice.

  5. Kim H
    June 19, 2010 at 3:14 pm

    I just bought the Daily Edition yesterday and I have to agree with Kara; the glare is something terrible. It is very distracting. Not sure if other readers are any better? I think I am going to take this one back to the store and research a little more before impulse shopping!

  6. Kara B
    May 12, 2010 at 6:22 pm

    My experience varies greatly from the other reviews, but then I own one and have tried to use it for more than a few seconds. I think the Sony Daily Edition is the biggest waste of money I have ever made. The fast setup instructions for the touch screen were useless. I had never set up a touchscreen before, so did not inherently know how to do it. Finally got it done accidentally by repeatedly hitting it with the stylus in frustration. I had read reviews about how bad the contrast and glare were on prior Sony ereaders, but that this one was better, and I could not believe that it could be so bad when the thing was selling for $400. I was wrong, as both are very bad on the Daily Edition I am almost 50, so eyes starting to go, maybe a younger person would not have same problems. I cannot read it at all in low light due to lack of contrast, then with a small directional light it can’t be read due to glare, even with text enlarged to XL. Also, some books’ text only enlarges on chapter titles, not all of the text. Problem with software, had to spend almost an hour on phone call with Sony support remoted into my PC to uninstall and reinstall the Sony Store software. 2009 press release stated that anyone who bought the Daily Edition would have access to NYC public library collection, have been unable to find any way to do that, and it was the selling point for me. I waited too long after receipt to use the product to be able to return it. Finally took it on the 3 week vacation that I bought it for, battery would not hold charge, sometimes would work for a few page turns, sometimes none, even though battery symbol showed fully charged when unplugged, leaving me with nothing to read for 3 weeks. Called Sony, customer service said will replace battery, connected me to tech support who say need serial # and purchase date to do that, order number not good enough, so have to call back when I have that info. Unknown at this time if Sony will really replace the battery. In 4 mos of owning it, have read 1.25 books on it. For $425 including shipping. That’s an expensive book!

  7. Shaz
    December 24, 2009 at 9:13 am

    I am currently using PRS-505 and am very satisfied with it. This looks very exciting. If they are able to solve the touchscreen glare problem I’ll definitely upgrade. I am not expecting a 505 like screen in sharpness but I should be, at least, not looking at my face while reading a book!

  8. Klaus Dr.
    October 8, 2009 at 12:36 pm

    This thing is really awesome, the best feature probably is the touchscreen, which I have been missing from my Kindle ever since I bought it a while ago. I don’t understand how there are mobile phones with touchscreens and when you are trying to get book readers to convert to an E-Reader you leave out that feature. In my opinion a touchscreen should be a nr.1 priority, also because it enlarges the reading area so much.

  9. Helene Jacobs
    September 8, 2009 at 8:43 am

    Wow, I only had in my hands for about 20 seconds but you can truly see that the E-Reader market is evolving quickly. This thing is almost like a Newspaper (a bit heavier), and reading it is even better than on the Kindle DX, which has been my favourite so far. So when this thing comes out, grab it!

  10. Thorsten
    September 8, 2009 at 8:42 am

    This is a great tool, although only for stationary use. If you want to travel a lot and need on the road you should go with the Kindle 2, which is much smaller. But its great to use instead of a Newspaper!

  11. Herbert F.
    August 28, 2009 at 2:41 am

    I had a chance to get my hands on one of these a couple of days ago in Veags and I have to say its probably the best one I have seen so far. It’s amazing how usable it is with Newspapers, when you compare it to the tiny screen of the pocket edition for instance. From what I can say this thing really rocks and it will be interesting so see the final release of it!

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>