Barnes & Noble

Barnes & Noble NOOK Reader

 

 

 

Barnes & Noble NOOK Reader ereader reviewsSee seperate review for the color version of the Nook.

Barnes & Noble, the world’s largest bookseller, announced the launch of nook, the Barnes & Noble eBook reader, which marries innovative technology and sleek minimalist design with access to the company’s digital store of over one million eBooks, newspapers and magazines.

Nook features many industry firsts as it is the first Android™-based eBook reader and the first to offer a color touch screen for navigation along with a best-in-class E Ink display for an immersive, enjoyable e-reading experience. For fast connectivity, nook is the first eBook reader to provide, at no additional costs to customers, both 3G wireless access on AT&T’s mobile broadband network and access to Wi-Fi for Barnes & Noble in-store browsing and enjoyment. And to help friends share their joy of reading, nook is the first eBook reader to offer digital lending for a wide selection of eBooks.

“We asked our customers what they wanted in an eBook reader, and specifically designed nook to be the most full-featured, fun, stylish and easy-to-use eBook reader on the market,” said William J. Lynch, President of Barnes & Noble.com. “With our nationwide footprint, Barnes & Noble customers can see, touch and hold nook. Our 40,000 booksellers are ready to help customers discover how easy it is to download and read eBooks on nook, and what a pleasure it is to have access to their favorite eBooks, magazines and newspapers any time and anywhere.”

Barnes & Noble NOOK Reader ereader reviewsThe Device

The centerpiece of Barnes & Noble’s strategy to deliver any book, any time, anywhere, nook was created expressly with the reader in mind, with features and functionality to create an immersive, seamless and fun experience:

nook’s sleek, minimalist design puts the focus on the content, not the technology, and the combination of color and touch make navigation intuitive and simple. nook feels great in hand and features a contoured, easy-to-hold back. About the size and weight of a paperback book, nook is thin, small and portable. Its best-in-class E Ink Vizplex™ display is easy on the eyes with text as clear and crisp as a printed book. And with no glare or backlight and adjustable text size, you can read comfortably for hours without straining your eyes.

Color Touch for Easy Navigation

The beautiful lower color touch screen offers an immersive experience, inviting you to virtually browse through brilliant cover art, flip through an expansive library, or search using a virtual keyboard. nook presents the controls, navigation and keyboard you need, only when you need them.

 

Download eBooks Wirelessly

With fast 3G wireless and Wi-Fi access, nook is the most-connected eBook reader. Browse and instantly download eBooks, magazines and newspapers simply and seamlessly on AT&T’s 3G wireless network, the nation’s fastest, with no set-up required or additional wireless costs. Connect to the complimentary Wi-Fi, provided by the AT&T Wi-Fi network, in Barnes & Noble stores and download at broadband fast speeds.

Lend eBooks to Friends

With nook’s breakthrough LendMe™ technology, lend a wide selection of eBooks to friends free of charge, for up to 14 days at a time. Just choose the book you want to share and send it to your friend’s nook or iPhone, iPod touch, select BlackBerry® and Motorola smartphones, PC or Mac® with Barnes & Noble eReader software.

A Continuous Reading Experience

With “Reading Now,” your virtual bookmark, nook brings you back to the last book you’ve read, right where you left off. And it works across a range of devices. If you forgot your nook at home, Barnes & Noble’s free eReader software on your iPhone, select BlackBerry and Motorola smartphones or laptop lets you pick up where you left off, including annotations. And when you’re reunited with your nook again, the Reading Now page will be updated and ready to go.

A Wealth of Content, in the Palm of Your Hand

nook can hold up to 1,500 eBooks and other printed content, and the sky’s the limit for your digital library when you use nook’s expandable memory slot. A 16GB MicroSD card holds up to 17,500 eBooks.

Portability and Personalization

You can also easily transfer PDF-format documents from your computer to access and read business documents, legal contracts and travel information on your nook. And transfer your photos to create custom screensavers.

Protect Your nook in Style

nook comes with a removable back cover you can personalize from a selection of four additional great colors. You can also choose from a range of accessories by renowned designers kate spade new york, Jack Spade, Jonathan Adler, Tahari and others. From classic and colorful portfolios to an innovative book light, Barnes & Noble will offer stylish and elegant accessories designed exclusively for nook both in stores and online.

Over One Million eBooks, Newspapers and Magazines

As part of nook’s introduction, Barnes & Noble has further expanded its wide selection of content to satisfy every reader.

Expanded eBookstore

From fiction to horror and romance to thrillers, with the launch of nook, Barnes & Noble’s eBookstore now offers the most eBook titles – over one million – with most bestsellers and new releases for just $9.99.

Your Daily Newspapers on nook

Read your “morning paper” any time, anywhere you go. Barnes & Noble now offers subscriptions to more than 20 newspapers, including The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Washington Post and Los Angeles Times. Barnes & Noble expects to offer, in digital form, subscriptions to every major U.S. daily.

Read Your Favorite Magazines

As the nation’s second largest retailer of magazines, Barnes & Noble is now pleased to offer its customers digital subscriptions. Enjoy reading publications including Forbes, Newsweek and The Nation on your nook, at home or on the go.

Experience nook at Your Local Barnes & Noble

Barnes & Noble’s nationwide network of stores enables its customers to see nook and get hands-on demonstrations from its booksellers. Furthermore, nook owners get added benefits.

Stunning Retail Displays

Barnes & Noble has created stunning storefront displays for nook that begin rolling out tomorrow in its highest-volume stores including 17 College bookstores such as DePaul University, Harvard University, Southern Methodist University, University of Pennsylvania and Washington State University. nook will be on display at its fully staffed customer service centers in every store.

Dedicated Booksellers

Barnes & Noble’s 40,000 booksellers are ready to help customers get the most of their nook e-reading experience, demonstrate the eReader applications on other devices, and assist and support purchases, browsing and downloads in-store.

Customers will also be able to browse complete eBooks for free on nook at any Barnes & Noble store, whether or not the actual book is in stock, beginning later this year. Plus settle into the café and get exclusive in-store-only content, free eBooks, special offers and much more using Barnes & Noble’s complimentary Wi-Fi, provided by the AT&T Wi-Fi network.

nook, the Barnes & Noble eBook reader, will be available end of November for $259.00. Barnes & Noble is taking pre-orders now at www.nook.com and in stores starting tomorrow. In celebration of nook’s launch, Barnes & Noble will also offer a free eBook of Malcolm Gladwell’s widely acclaimed best-seller, “The Tipping Point,” for the first 10,000 customers to pre-order nook.

nook feels great in hand and features a contoured, easy-to-hold back. About the size and weight of a paperback book, nook is thin, small and portable. Its best-in-class E Ink® Vizplex™ display is easy on the eyes with text as clear and crisp as a printed book. And with no glare or backlight and adjustable text size, you can read comfortably for hours. Our minimalist design puts the focus on the content, not the technology, welcoming the reader to dive right in.

Color Touch Screen for Easy Navigation

The first-ever color touch screen for navigation on an eBook reader offers an immersive experience, inviting you to virtually browse through brilliant cover art, flip through an expansive library, or search using a virtual keyboard. The combination of color and touch on the beautiful lower screen make navigating nook intuitive and simple, even for the tech novice. nook presents the controls, navigation and keyboard you need, only when you need them.

With fast 3G wireless and Wi-Fi access, nook is the most-connected eBook reader. Browse and instantly download eBooks, magazines and newspapers simply and seamlessly on AT&T’s 3G wireless network, the nation’s fastest, with no set-up required or additional wireless costs. Connect to the complimentary Wi-Fi, provided by the AT&T Wi-Fi network, in Barnes & Noble stores and download at broadband fast speeds.

With nook’s breakthrough LendMe™ technology, lend a wide selection of eBooks to friends free of charge, for up to 14 days at a time. Just choose the book you want to share and send it to your friend’s nook or iPhone, iPod touch, select BlackBerry® and Motorola smartphones, PC or Mac® with Barnes & Noble eReader software.

A Continuous Reading Experience

Carry up to 1,500 eBooks using nook’s 2GB of memory, and a virtually unlimited library using nook’s expandable memory slot, which will hold up to 17,500 eBooks on each 16GB MicroSD card. Buying eBooks is simple and seamless. With just two touches, you’ll be able to purchase and download eBooks in seconds. And many bestsellers and new releases are just $9.99, so you can enjoy more for less. Barnes & Noble NOOK Reader ereader reviews

 

Do you have any experiences with the NOOK? We would love to  hear from you and get your opinion! Please see rating section below!

 

Previous post

Ectaco Jetbook E-Book Reader

Next post

eRead STAR-Ebook

Thomas Jefferson

Thomas is a technology professional with an incredible interest in E-Readers and how they change the way we read. He has been involved in the development of E-Ink, as well as having reviewed hundreds of different devices over the years.

42 Comments

  1. Daylin Spencer
    September 25, 2011 at 2:35 am

    Technical support is terriblef or this product. An automatic firmware update was done to the Nook. It reset the Nook to factory resetting completely deleting everything on the Nook. It took over 4 days to restore everthing on the nook. It still not working properly. Tech support stated I need to buy a special screwdriver to take the Nook apart and remove the battery. Then I’m support to reset it back to factory default setting to delete everything on again. Then spend another 4 days resetting up the Nook. Tech support is clearly clueless and none of these efforts fixed the issue.

  2. julie warmate
    September 23, 2011 at 8:21 pm

    i need the pen for my hanvon ereader n518
    please email me back to tell me what i need to do or is there in where in houston
    tx where i can buy the skylus

  3. Vikki Jensen
    August 31, 2011 at 4:23 pm

    Nook over Kindle, for US customers only! Nook has a replaceable battery and the ability to add extra memory. Nook displays a page number, Kindle does not. Nook has more books available and more free books than does Kindle. Nook uses Android technology, meaning it is more “open” than the Kindle. Nook support is great!. You can use any WiFi and 3G is widely available, at least in my area. My only complaint is that the screens don’t flip as quickly as the newer Kindle, but I am a speed reader, so that might not be a problem for most.

  4. March 24, 2011 at 3:59 pm

    I cannot find complete info about the nook, like connecting possibilities (usb or else), to import my own books, books from my own library and in what format (pdf or else). Please, someone using the nook, answer my question or where to find this info.

  5. Nook Review
    March 12, 2011 at 11:20 am

    The husband and I bought a Nook right after Christmas. We liked it so much that we had to buy a second one to prevent us from fighting over the first one.

    I thought I’d share a few of our pros/cons:

    Pros:

    - We like the longer battery life
    - The ability to lend books to each other is great. We buy one book and share.
    - It’s relatively light.

    Cons:

    - It only has 2GB of memory. On the bright side, this can be expanded.

    Those are the things we’ve come to like/dislike the most in the past 3 months of owning Nooks.

  6. Jenni
    February 12, 2011 at 6:33 pm

    Don’t forget, the public libraries are also trying to stay in the game.. the itty bitty library in my home town has aroun 20,000 e-books (and adding more each day)free and ready to download to your Nook.

  7. Stacy
    December 28, 2010 at 12:00 pm

    I received the newest Kindle for Christmas, but haven’t opened it yet because I’ve heard that I cannot get library books on it. Does anyone know if library books can be downloaded to the nook? Is the nook better than the Kindle?

  8. Lisa
    December 27, 2010 at 1:42 am

    We purchased the Nook for our daughter for Christmas this year. I should start by saying that we live in Canada. We researched the difference between the different ereaders and found this one to suit our needs. We purchased it at Best Buy on black friday. When we attempted to charged the device we had troubles. We then had to go back to the US and trouble shoot the problem at the store. It turned out that the battery that is rechargeable was completly dead. The battery was changed at no charge to us. We brought it home and got an ecard for the purchase of some of the books that she wanted. We downloaded the first book with no problems. When it came to the second book we got an error message that state that our billing address was not within the limits of the US, US territories or Canada. We then checked the web site for any errors on our behave. We attempted to download the following 14 books that she wanted but got the same message. The next day we attempted to call the customer service department and 7 hours later we finally got intouch with someone. We were then told that the error was a generic message and that it meant that the book was not available to Canadians. Come to find out that when you shop directly from the Nook you are not given that info about the books but if you go on the web site you can access the info in a very small area on the second page of the review of any particular book. Also come to find out that the magority of the books are not available to Canada. What use is this machine to me now. This also transpired on the 23 of december. So off to the store I go to return the device. No problems there. Now my problem is that Barnes adn Noble will not return my ecard purchase. Now in their policies it does not say anything about no refunds on ecards. Their solution to my problem is to go to the store and purchase things.I
    am so upset by this situation because they seem to not worry about the fact that they have a very disastified customer. We are now have discussions with the management team and still are not getting anything accomplish. I do not recommend this product to any Canadians.

  9. Aaliya
    December 25, 2010 at 2:56 pm

    Hi does anybody know if it has got an organiser/ calender in it? can you sync it with outlook? thanks

  10. Renae
    November 29, 2010 at 4:29 am

    I have had my Nook since April 2010 and I absolutely love it. I have never had any problems with it. No cracks, locking up, shutting down, etc.
    I have called Barnes and Noble customer service on more than one occasion and they have always been able to help me. They have even asked a supervisor if they do not know the answer. (My reason for calling customer service was due to eBooks – not the Nook itself.)
    One of my favorite things I like about it is I can download books on my Nook, on ANY computer through my bn.com account and on my Android phone and all three have the same books so I can read my book on one device and pick up on another.
    I definitely recommend the Nook to friends and family. In fact I have purchased one for my father for Christmas.

  11. Bobby
    November 23, 2010 at 2:44 am

    I’ve had it for two months and love it. I have had no problems with it what so ever. The one thing i would improve would be battery life. I’m only getting three days or twenty hours of reading time between charges.

  12. mark
    November 22, 2010 at 10:16 pm

    YO HO HO and a bottle of rum. Cheryl,did you try poppin the battery out and reseat it?That usually takes care of lock ups…marko

  13. Cheryl Hurt
    November 12, 2010 at 12:15 pm

    Got a NOOK in April 2010 because we cruise a lot. Now, here at sea with 10 days still to go and my NOOK DIED!!!! The page froze, can’t move anywhere. Yes, it is fully charged, yes, I tried turning it completely off and restarting it but I AM AT SEA and cannot download anything! HELP!

  14. Stacey
    October 20, 2010 at 5:50 pm

    I purchased my Nook in July. 2 weeks after using the Nook, I began to have issues. The software updates would be automatically removed and the machine would reset to the Nook’s original factory settings. All non B&N content would be lost, and any bookmarks, hilights, etc. would be lost. B&N’s support would have me spend 45 minutes to an hour working out fixes 5 times before they replaced the Nook, with a refurbished Nook that had a line through the screen. After 3 weeks of using the “new” Nook, I experienced the same issues. A 2nd replacement was sent, and after 1 day, the issue repeated itself. B&N Support told me that a manager would need to authorize another replacement, and I would get a call. 3 days, and 5 calls to the support line later, I still have not gotten to speak to a manager, and no returned call has been recieved. An e-mail to customer support was replied to by B&N, suggesting I call the support number. Luckily I purchsed the Nook from Best Buy, and after contacting them, I was able to receive a full refund. B&N lost a once loyal customer. The Nook is not worth the issues.

  15. Krista
    October 19, 2010 at 2:21 am

    I love my Nook. I have had it since Feb of 2010.

    I have very few negatives, but I would like to see bigger keys on kb, or at least make it stylus sensitive. I am not keen on the games. It should be an option to download, not just put on there.

    Other than that, I love it. I have read 30 or so books since Feb. I have most of ‘The Cat Who…’ books (Lilian Jackson Braun) on my Nook, I read the pre loaded ‘Little Women’ and enjoyed it.

    I find the e-magazines and e-newspapers not as satisfying, but I do not mind for now.

    Be careful of the free books. I d/l a free ‘The Secret Garden’ By Frances Burnett and it was so full of typos, I wound up buying the same book for 1.99 or something like that.

    I don’t know if I’ll ever fill up the 1500 book capacity (or even 1000) books, but it is nice to know that if I do win the lottery, I can have a blast trying and if I did fill it, there is expansion for another 16GB.

    I did research between Nook and Kindle. It was the expansion slot and not being tied to only a few formats that won me over to the Nook.

    I read my Nook every day, and I have not had my any malfunctions, cracks, and my battery life with wifi off lasts a couple of days before it starts to go down. I charge it every night or close to it, so I never have that issue.

    I have the cover that zips closed naprene or something like that. I keep my Nook in there whenever I am not reading. I turn the Nook ‘upside down’ in its case to charge it.

    If you are on the fence, get a Nook. You will be glad you did.

  16. Santanu Lahiri
    July 31, 2010 at 5:43 pm

    I just got a Nook reader a few days ago. It is a nice reader, but I found a few things I do not like. Screen is actually very good. Very little eye strain even after reading for several hours at a time. Fairly easy to acquire new books and start reading.

    Here is what I do not like so much: The Nook claims 2GB of storage for B&N stuff and personal items. What I did not find mentioned anywhere is that the OS storage is part of that, and is a whopping 700+MB. That leaves you with approximately 1.28Gb of storage for your books and music. That is, before you add an SD card. Almost halves the storage right there.

    The second thing I have run across is after getting full charge, and with WIFI mostly off, the battery is at 55% after roughly 48 hours. I have actually used the Nook for reading for maybe 10 hours at most. WIFI was on for less than 30 minutes out of that. I did not switch on Airplane mode, just turned WIFI off. I am not sure how long the charge will actually last. I am something of a speed reader, so I guess I may turn pages more frequently. And perhaps some settings need to be played with. But at the moment I am somewhat skeptical of the 10-day claim.

    On another note, B&N Digital Support folks have been VERY helpful, even to the extent of researching their answer before coming back to me with it. For that kind of service, I do not mind being put on hold for five to ten minutes. Thanks guys for the clarification about the memory issue.

  17. ilove2readMR
    July 21, 2010 at 11:39 pm

    For those who are on the fence on the Nook, I would like to share a recent experience. First, I love this product. Its ease of use, the touchscreen, the availability of books, the price of the digital versions and the e-ink technology. While it is comparable to Kindle, I prefer my nook because i don’t have the physical keyboard on the front which is a UI that I’m not particularly fond of. However, consumers beware that the nooks have manufacturer defects. Most recently, the 3G connectivity to enable digital downloading – it’s not working properly. Whether that is the server provider’s issue or not, it’s an inconvenience for the customer. Second, the face plate cracks where the forward/backward arrows are after a few months of normal use. As any normal customer who now has a defective product, getting a replacement for the nook is challenging. B&N will not replace recently purchased (<1yr) nooks with new ones but will be replaced with a refurbished product. While I'm certain testing protocols are in place for the refurbished replacements, long-time customers of B&N who purchased their nooks for $259 and were the early adopters of the product, it would only seem to be a reasonable expectation to get a brand new replacement – which supposedly are the new improved versions. But alas, the customer service dept will quote the Terms of Service that the customer agreed to by simply purchasing the nook that they would have to accept refurbished products for the brand new ones. For some refurbished replacement is fine, for most, they find it unpalatable to get a used replacement for the expensive brand new models that was purchased only a few months ago. For most of you on the fence, usability is the main factor for purchasing a product, but perhaps you may want to consider that Amazon's customer services seems to be better at this than B&N. And yes, I'm one of the unfortunate ones.

  18. Sydney
    July 17, 2010 at 4:39 am

    Can you download books from Amazon to the Nook? I’m debating between the Kindle and Nook and unsure which is more flexible. It sounds like it has a touchscreen keyboard. Is that correct? I wish B&N would do a flash presentation on it.

  19. Rodney
    July 14, 2010 at 5:52 pm

    I bought the Nook Wi-fi model which only has Wi-fi rather than Wi-fi and 3G. The $150 price tag really made this a must buy for me as I really don’t need 3G.

    It is a great reader and quite customizable. I’ve already downloaded new wallpapers and screensavers.

    I’ve already put 104 books on my Nook and find myself reading a lot more now than I used to. It is a great machine.

    Regarding the question put forth by skater. The kindle uses a different file format for it’s e-books than the Nook or the Sony readers. So it would not be compatible. Most, if not all other readers at least support PDF and ePUB formats. Some allow other formats like TXT, etc. The Kindle only uses its own proprietary file format.

  20. catherine
    July 6, 2010 at 6:44 pm

    Hi all — I am looking for an e reader and live in an area where AT&T has no signal. Seriously, to use my soon to be ex AT&T mobile I have to walk about a quarter of a mile. My question, anyone else struggle with AT&T. Would Nook work as cell (my guess) Thanks for any help.

  21. skater
    July 3, 2010 at 2:59 pm

    TO JOHN KORKA:

    Go to NetLibrary.com.

    The Sony and Nook are compatible and you can download books for free. I was all set to get the Kindle when I found out about this. Now I don’t know which to get. I am trying to figure out why the kindle wouldn’t be
    compatible.

  22. Jim
    June 30, 2010 at 2:33 am

    I noticed that some people thought it was us restricted. IT IS NOT!!!!! Anywhere there is att 3g coverage it has internet.

  23. John
    June 8, 2010 at 9:57 pm

    I bought this a little over a month ago. So far I’ve got to say this is really one of if not the best e-readers.
    I went through the list Sony- found 0 value, the ones that had similiar capabilities were a almost a $100 more the ones that were cheaper had smaller screens and much less capabilities for around $50 less. Not worth the savings.

    I was all set on the Kindle until I tried out the Nook in the store. I just couldn’t go back to the Kindle. I love the color touchscreen navigation, It’s soo easy and fun with the finger swiping etc. The Kindle all of sudden felt very outdated.
    The styling and the feel of the Nook were excellent. I like the slight concave rubberized back. Fits perfect in your hand with a nice grip. It’s very light yet it has that certain right amount of weight to give you a presence.
    It supports e-Pub and Kindle does not. That is bigger than you know. for one you can check out books from the Library with this and two you can buy books from other sights that uses e-Pub and just sideload them in without having to go and convert them etc.
    Love how it displays the book cover art.
    The InStore reading and the :More In Store” feature. Makes this fun to go back to Barnes and Noble. Whic I love to do anyway.

    Overall I just cannot recommend this enough. The contrast is also one of the best I’ve seen.
    This is an excellent e-reader. They may have stumbled out of the gate with some bugs but after all their Software updates, this is really hitting it’s stride.

  24. Caroll
    May 13, 2010 at 2:56 am

    I love my NOOK. I love all the new features, internet, games, in store reading for free. I also love that I am able to downlaod ebooks from the library. I am also able to lend books. I read more now that I have a convenient NOOK. The only thing I don’t like is I wanted to buy one for my niece that lives in Trinidad because she is an avid reader. I don’t believe it will allow her to download books outside of the USA.

  25. Matt
    May 3, 2010 at 9:11 am

    first off @Lars Flourty, Why are you reviewing something you don’t own? That’s very ignorant and aggravating.

    I’ve had my Nook for a month or so now, it is awesome, it’s designed for one thing and it does it excellently. Also it might not get 3G in europe but you can still use the wi-fi in Europe, so what’s the big deal?

  26. john korka
    April 27, 2010 at 5:48 am

    I’m a senior citizen. i use the libary a lot. cost of books would be a big concern
    for me. what does b&n want for “a classic”? any senior discounts? any
    discounts for students?
    when will this unit be considered a value
    for the casual reader?

  27. Ron Gaillot
    April 16, 2010 at 9:10 pm

    I just received my Nook a couple days ago. So far I love it. The display is sharp and crisp. I was able to load on a number of PDB ebooks from http://www.ereader.com and http://www.gutenberg.org and they work fine as well.
    I can read in bright light – the main reason I bought an E-ink device. The Android OS will eventually lead to other 3rd party applications, making it more versatile.

    Downsides: dictionary lookup is a little clumsy. This is mainly related to the next point.
    I am used to a touchscreen LCD on my Palm TX. When I want to look something up, I just touch it and get the definition. The E-ink display is not a touchscreen. It’s different, and will take some adapting. All E-ink displays have this issue, so it shouldn’t be used to compare one to another. The separate LCD touchscreen is kind of clubfooted, but beats the Kindle keypad hands down!
    The organization of store-bought and side-loaded ebooks is kept separate. I wished they would allow them to be combined somehow so that I can organize all my ebooks by author.

    I would definitely recommend this to a friend (and have).

    Additional thought – if anyone develops an E-Ink – like display with touchscreen capability (or a low power LCD with sufficient contrast to not washout in sunlight) is going to make a killing.

    Publishers need to get their acts together on the pricing of ebooks. You should NEVER have to pay more than about $7.00 for a new ebook – less for classics.
    I will be relying on more classic books until the prices start to drop.

  28. John Anderson
    April 4, 2010 at 1:49 am

    I’ve had the Nook since December and it’s great!

    I read a lot when I’m traveling and I used to take a book for every 2 days I was going to be gone. Now I just take my Nook and I have all the books I want. If I ‘run out’ of books I’ve already bought I just download more – so no need to read junk from the hotel gift shop. I can download good books wirelessly in less than a minute.

    I also read a lot of professional journal articles in PDF format and with the Nook I have thousands saved in my memory card. Way easier than reading them on my computer and much easier on a plane or waiting at the airport.

    My only negatives are the battery could last longer – if I’m careful to stay in ‘airplane’ mode with wireless and Wifi off then it lasts for a couple of days of pretty steady reading. The only other negative is that it is still somewhat slow to switch from one screen to another. Not a big deal but I hope they speed it up with the next update (updates are free downloads).

  29. Andrew Kawada
    February 10, 2010 at 12:14 am

    With great anticipation, I bought the Nook for my wife for her birthday. We’ve now had it for a total of 5 days and it has locked up 3 times!!!! We’ve taken out the battery (as instructed) but still the device does not operate as advertised. In all, we’ve spent a total of 2.5 hours on the phone with tech support and they have been very disorganized, oftern not know what to do… this is by far the worst level of customer service I’ve ever had with Barnes & Noble!

    I’ll be returning this device as soon as I can and will be getting a Kindle!!!!

  30. Jean
    January 14, 2010 at 5:20 am

    I love my Nook! Books, both free and the ones you buy, download very quickly! The screen is really easy to read, the interface is easy, very intuitive, and it is nice to be able to change the type face & size.
    I downloaded an audio book from my library and play it on the mp3 player, again easy to do. This function requires that you connect through your pc.
    I haven’t tryed loading pdf files, or graphics files yet, but that is next on my list.
    I have experienced one “quirk”, I tried to jump from one menu screen to another before the first had finished loading and locked the Nook. B&N’s web help gave me the directions for resetting (basicly, take out the battery and put it back in) and everything was fine. I haven’t had the problem again.
    The AT&T wireless is free and quick. The B&N WiFi at the store is just as fast. The books you buy are always remembered online, so you can download them again if you want.
    I plan to use the Nook when I travel. I can’t imagine a time when I go abroad that I wouldn’t be able to load enough ebooks in advance to keep me happy for the trip. If you aren’t using the wireless, turning if off saves the battery.
    So, don’t be afraid of a Nook! They are great fun.

  31. Joshua
    December 18, 2009 at 9:43 am

    I own a nook. I personally love it. It does have quirks, but what “new” hardware of this sort doesn’t. It is the first ereader to use the Android OS, did you actually think that it wouldn’t have bugs?

    If you have ever used computers and the like you should be use to bugs. They will eventually be sorted out. It downloads books quickly, connection to wifi and at&t work flawlessly. All in all it’s a great new gadget…..

  32. Ezra
    December 11, 2009 at 6:42 pm

    How can you give a product a rating if you haven’t used it? On design, perhaps. On usability, it’s just not possible unless you’ve actually USED it.

    All you’re rating is hype, which if you’ve ever heard the phrase “it didn’t live up to the hype”, then you know that actual performance ratings are what really matter.

    Thanks to those non-owners who commented without rating.

  33. pamelab
    December 5, 2009 at 1:24 am

    Is the use of the AT&T network (WiFi) outside of Barnes and Noble FREE to use to download ebooks? I live about an hour from the closest one.
    It’s confusing when such stress is placed on the FREE WiFi within the store. Makes it sound like you’ll have to pay for it elsewhere.

  34. Brian G.
    November 14, 2009 at 5:28 am

    For all those who think you have to be hooked up to a Wi-Fi Hotspot to download books, rest easy. AT&T supports wireless internet connections for the Nook through their Wireless Network – the network Apple chose to power their iPhone. Books can be downloaded wherever there is an AT&T network signal AS WELL AS from Wi-Fi Hotspots. By the way, Barnes and Noble WI-Fi’s are all AT&T Wi-Fi Hotspots which means Nooks can use all of them for free. Now, the question is this: Starbucks Wi-Fi’s are also AT&T Hotspots. Will they all be free to access with a Nook too?

  35. November 4, 2009 at 1:57 pm

    Hello. I am also new to the ereader platform, and when i came across the Nook it coninced me to buy.

    First, after reading some of these comments, it seems there is confusion about access to digital books. The nook is equipped with 2 methods of downloading books. 1 – using WiFi at a Barnes and Noble store (this is what you most likely use at home, and office, or coffee shop). 2 – The second method is using 3g (this means that anywhere your cell phone works you are able to connect to the store and download. There is no need for USB to PC/MAC connections. I hope that clarifies that.

    Another interesting point is the nook is created using the Andriod platform, which is an open source OS indicating that future application can be added without haing to ditch the deice to buy a new one. Very green!

    With color touchscreen, you will have virtual book coers to browse through. Nice..

    The only competitor I hae come across is Sony’s Daily Reader, slated for December release. This also comes with 3g wireless built in, howeer there is a footnote that you are not able to download eBooks unless connected to a PC…a little backwards. Its like giving something to cosumers that doesn’t work!

    Nook…smart, elegant. Definitly going to buy!

  36. A
    November 2, 2009 at 7:31 am

    With the color screen, what is the battery life?

  37. Robert
    October 29, 2009 at 12:20 am

    It will be inconvenient having to go to a Barnes/Noble bookstore to download books.
    Can’t I download from home from my wireless computer or even via a USB hookup?

  38. Ruth
    October 26, 2009 at 8:26 pm

    I’m really new to all of this but plan on being an ereader soon. Reading the above review, I’m not sure how one will download books from home? I know with the kindle you don’t have to be connected to a computer (my daughter does it on the LIRR)…does the NOOK work this way, too? The line in the review about “in Barnes and Noble stores….” threw me. Thanks for comments and advice.

  39. Tanja Oswald
    October 23, 2009 at 10:22 am

    Hi Yonina,
    There is actualy not a Folder view here either, but the NOOK has, like the Kindle, the option to tag books accordong to topic areas or subjects. That works much better than a simple Folder view, everybody who uses gmail will agree to that!:-)

  40. yonina dove
    October 22, 2009 at 10:25 pm

    It looks great! I’ve always been more a fan of barnes and noble than amazon, so i’m definitely thinking about investing in one of these.

    From what I heard the Kindle doesn’t have folders to organize the books, does the Nook? If so, I’m sold.

  41. Tanja Oswald
    October 22, 2009 at 2:47 pm

    Looks phantastic!
    However the comment above said it right, its only something if you live in the US, which also makes it quite useless for Business people who travel a lot internationally, as there will be no coverage outside the states. I think this will be one of the make or break functions E-Readers will have to have, because after all these things are more for the hyper travelling, professional reader, are they not?

  42. Lars Flourty
    October 22, 2009 at 2:44 pm

    Looks amazing, that thing! However until now I’m not sure if they will have the same library as Amazon, does anybody know about that?
    I also think that this might be very restricted locally, as Barnes & Noble to my knowledge is not an international company but rather only in US, right?
    Anyway, since I’m from NYC I’ll definitly get one of these!!:-)

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>